| Strategic Plan | Campuswide & Unit Plans

The Campuswide Strategic Plan

The Campuswide Strategic Plan outlines overarching strategies and major campuswide actions intended to support the 49 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. A new role of Chief Diversity Officer has been created to coordinate the implementation of the university’s plan. Additionally, a growing set of DE&I courses and resources are available to campus units, teams and individuals at no cost. Tracking and reporting of all plans will be evaluated at the end of years three (2018) and five (2020).
We invite you to learn more about the history, the strategies and the aspirations that have shaped this plan, and the many programs and initiatives it will set in motion.

Unit Plans

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 49 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

Kati Bauer, Sr Counselor to the Vice Provost for Digital Education & Innovation

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kati@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Craig Smith and Joanna Frye

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: craigsm@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://advance.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ruquel Atchison

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ruquelm@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Nancy Bartlett, Associate Director

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nbart@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://bentley.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tina Jordan and Amy Bunch

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jordantl@umich.edu or amybunch@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Theresa Braunschneider, Ph.D.; Tershia Pinder-Grover, Ph.D.

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Kirsten Elling & Janice Reuben

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kelling@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Clayton Lewis & Terese Austin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: clayclem@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Michael Wellman & Robert Scott

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wellman@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Rebecca Brown, Latisha Cunningham, Angela Dillard and Fiona Lee

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: socialsciad@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton, Diversity/Inclusion Specialist

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Lee Doyle

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: leedoyle@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jiyoung Lee & Joseph Lam

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jiyoungl@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://confucius.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Marlanna Landeros & Stacy Ede Moore

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Susan Guindi & Paula Lantz & Stephanie Sanders, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sguindi@umich.edu or stepsand@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://fordschool.umich.edu/diversity-commitment.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Dana Sitzler, Associate Director of State Outreach

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dds@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Karen Houghtaling

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Dima Tawakkol & Diane Jones

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tawakkol@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://myumi.ch/65nv8.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Burgard, Jane Ballo and Tara Engholm

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ISR-DEI-plan@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://home.isr.umich.edu/diversity/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Suellyn Scarnecchia

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: suellyns@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork & Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Maricela Avalos & Heather Hunter

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: marava@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Clarissa Love

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: MedicineDEI@umich.edu or lkattari@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.med.umich.edu/ohei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Natalie Vasher

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: natavano@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Lumas Helaire

To learn more, contact: lhelaire@umich.edu

Revised year two plan coming soon.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kedra Ishop, Amanda Blanchette & Nichele Moses

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nmoses@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Volker Sick, Associate Vice President for Research

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: vsick@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

LaSonia Forté, Administrative Manager

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ljforte@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn & Tyne Lucas

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Kathleen Aalderink

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: aalderin@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Sooyeon Kim

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ksooyeon@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Deborah Willis & Robin Means-Coleman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: willisds@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.rackham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Dorceta E Taylor & Sonia Joshi

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dorceta@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester & Tina Pryor

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.dent.umich.edu/student-life/extracurricular/diversity-and-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Camille Wilson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: camillew@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Lawson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/aboutsi/diversity-school-information.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Freyja Harris

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: freyharr@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel & Patricia Coleman-Burns

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu or pcb@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.nursing.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion .

Implementation Lead(s)

Sharon Kardia & Nichole Burnside

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: skardia@umich.edu or washingn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lorraine Gutierrez and Lauren Davis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lorraing@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Musleh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: samusleh@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Francis Nunoo-Quarcoo

To learn more, contact: fnunoo@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/pdf/DEIPlan2017-2018.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Taryn Petryk, Carolyn Yoon & Amy Byron-Oilar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http:// https/michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Thomas Lehker, Anna Ruszkiewicz & Monita Thompson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tlehker@umich.edu or monitact@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

Implementation Lead(s)

McLain Clutter & Joana Dos Santos

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mclainc@umich.edu or joanads@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/sites/default/files/files/2016_1005_TAUBMAN%20DIV%20PLAN_8.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis & Shelley Curry

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Dondi Cupp & Katherine Walsh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dcupp@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jeff Witt, Diversity and Inclusion Specialist

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wittjef@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/diversity.