| Strategic Plan

Campuswide & Unit Plans

Campuswide Strategic Plan

The campuswide strategic plan outlines overarching strategies and actions intended to support the 50 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion oversees the implementation and evaluation of the campuswide plan.

For more information about the history, strategies and aspirations that shaped this, see:


Unit Plans & Contacts

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 50 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

Ryan Henyard, Ana Dora, RaShonda Flint

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rhenyard@umich.edu, anadora@umich.edu or, rrflint@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Shawn Beard, Stephanie Shaulskiy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: spbeard@umich.edu or sshauls@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://advance.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Abigail Eiler, Whitney Tarver

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rowea@umich.edu or wtarver@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis, Shelley Curry, Tina Foley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu or mdcurry@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nancy Bartlett, Brian Williams, Corinne Robertson, Diana Bachman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nbart@umich.edu or cormich@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://bentley.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Eileen Rider, Jane Pettit

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: erider@umich.edu or janep@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tershia Pinder-Grover, Victoria Genetin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu or vgenetin@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Prince, Sandra Iaderosa

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sarahpr@umich.edu or iaderosa@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Erickson, Jayne Ptolemy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pjerick@umich.edu or jptolemy@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kimberly Burton, Sara Pozzi, Lauren Shackleford, Lyonel Milton

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pozzisa@umich.edu, lshackle@umich.edu or, test@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tabby Chavous, Jessica Garcia, Paula Hathaway, Kelly Maxwell

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tchavous@umich.edu or jcgdei@umich.edu.

ptrail@umich.edu, kmax@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton, Massiel Adams-Santos

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu or massiel@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Billick, Hanna Quinlan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: billickc@umich.edu or hquinlan@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Marlanna Landeros, Stacy Ede

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu or stacyede@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Stephen Eberle, Kathi Reister, Catherine Miller

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: seberle@umich.edu, kreister@umich.edu or, cademi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Stephanie Sanders, Celeste Watkins-Hayes, Catie Hausman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: stepsand@umich.edu, cwhayes@umich.edu or, chausman@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://fordschool.umich.edu/diversity-commitment.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Madeline Nykaza, Sarah Crane

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: MNykaza@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Mary Kay Phelps

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu or mkphelps@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Keila Walton, Kaylee Bloom, Diane Jones

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: keilaw@umich.edu or kmbloom@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://its.umich.edu/about/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tara Engholm, Sheri Notaro

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tengholm@umich.edu or swynn@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://home.isr.umich.edu/diversity/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Michele Fraiser, Kimberly D'Haene, Alexis Bailey

To learn more, contact: kdhaene@umich.edu, mfrasier@umich.edu or, ambaile@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork, Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Ivana Lopez-Espinosa, Liz Glynn

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lopezeia@umich.edu or lizglynn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

LaTonya Berryhill, Kristen Howard

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ltweety@umich.edu or howardkr@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.med.umich.edu/ohei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Sampson, Alisunn Jones

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: asamps@umich.edu or alisunnj@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Madison Smith

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: msmithk@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Sheri Samaha , Hector Galvan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sridout@umich.edu or hgalvan@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://odei.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Erica Sanders

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yale@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Sabrina Ervin, Nick Wigginton, Trachette Jackson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sme@umich.edu, nwigg@umich.edu or, tjacks@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Katie McGaffigan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kmcgaff@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn, Tyne Lucas, Kimberly Brown, Mikalia Dennis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu or tyne@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Air Force - MAJOR John Wilkinson, James Yau, Army - Elijah Durian, Navy - Alexis Kantaris

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jcwilkin@umich.edu or ejduri@umich.edu.

guillory@umich.edu, kantaris@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Ethriam Brammer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ebrammer@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.rackham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lauren Davis, Kristen Surla, Vanesa Jackson, Rebecca Hardin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: laurdavi@umich.edu or ksurla@umich.edu.

vanesaj@umich.edu, rdhardin@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.dent.umich.edu/student-life/extracurricular/diversity-and-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Henry Meares (interim), Deborah Rivas-Drake

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: hmeares@umich.edu or drivas@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Schabel, Devon Keen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu or devaca@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/aboutsi/diversity-school-information.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Amber Benton

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: amberben@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel, Patricia Coleman-Burns

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu or pcb@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.nursing.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion .

Implementation Lead(s)

Whitney Peoples, Enrique Neblett, Marie O'Neill

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wpeoples@umich.edu, eneblett@umich.edu or, marieo@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Larry Gant, Megan Leys, Eljonna Williams

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lmgant@umich.edu, mleys@umich.edu or, willeljo@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Katie McGaffigan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kmcgaff@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Mahendra Kumar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkumar@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/pdf/DEIPlan2017-2018.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Carolyn Yoon, Thomas Bell

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu or thomn@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http:// https/michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nadia Bazzy, Jaime Cox, Will Sherry, Gizem Kestly

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nmbazzy@umich.edu or jaimecox@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

Implementation Lead(s)

Joana Dos Santos, Anya Sirota

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: joanads@umich.edu or asirota@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/sites/default/files/files/2016_1005_TAUBMAN%20DIV%20PLAN_8.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kalia Vang, Katherine Walsh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kaliav@umich.edu or katwalsh@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jeff Witt

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wittjef@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/diversity.