| Strategic Plan

Campuswide & Unit Plans

Campuswide Strategic Plan

The campuswide strategic plan outlines overarching strategies and actions intended to support the 50 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion oversees the implementation and evaluation of the campuswide plan.

For more information about the history, strategies and aspirations that shaped this, see:


Unit Plans & Contacts

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 49 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

Rachel Niemer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rkniemer@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Wendy Ascione-Juska and Keesa Johnson Muhammad

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wascione@umich.edu or keesav@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://advance.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ruquel Atchison and Whitney Tarver

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ruquelm@umich.edu or wtarver@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nancy Bartlett, Associate Director

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nbart@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://bentley.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tina Jordan and Amy Bunch

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jordantl@umich.edu or amybunch@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Theresa Braunschneider, Tershia Pinder-Grover, Victoria Genetin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu or tbraun@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kirsten Elling & Janice Reuben

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kelling@umich.edu or reubenjs@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Shneen Coldiron and Louis Miller

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: shneenc@umich.edu or louismi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sara Pozzi & Robert Scott

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pozzisa@umich.edu or scottrd@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rebecca Brown, Latisha Cunningham, Angela Dillard, Fiona Lee and Paula Hathaway

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cunnlat@umich.edu or fionalee@umich.edu.

Please check back soon for Year 3 Plan.

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton, Diversity/Inclusion Specialist

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Billick

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: billickc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jiyoung Lee & Joseph Lam

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jiyoungl@umich.edu or jsclam@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://confucius.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Marlanna Landeros & Stacy Ede Moore

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu or stacyej@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Janine Driver, Ken Panko and Ataul Usman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: driverja@umich.edu or kpanko@umich.edu.

Strategic plan coming soon.

Implementation Lead(s)

Susan Guindi & Paula Lantz & Stephanie Sanders, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sguindi@umich.edu or stepsand@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://fordschool.umich.edu/diversity-commitment.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Mark Rivett and Anna Marshall

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rivett@umich.edu or ammarsh@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Elizabeth LaPorte

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu or elzblap@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Diane Jones, Ken Caldwell and Jane Berliss-Vincent

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: diajon@umich.edu or kencald@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://its.umich.edu/about/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Burgard and Tara Engholm

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ISR-DEI-plan@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://home.isr.umich.edu/diversity/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Bayrex Mati-Colon

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: bayrex@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork & Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Maricela Avalos, Heather Hunter & David Michener

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: marava@umich.edu or hlhunter@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Clarissa Love

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: MedicineDEI@umich.edu or clarfree@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.med.umich.edu/ohei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Natalie Vasher

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: natavano@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Lumas Helaire

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lhelaire@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://odei.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kedra Ishop, Amanda Blanchette & Paul Robinson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: probins@umich.edu or ajillhar@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rebecca Cunningham and Bekah Ashley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: stroh@umich.edu or bekahb@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Katie McGaffigan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kmcgaff@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn, Tyne Lucas & Kimberly Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu or tyne@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Captain Joshua Rodriguez, Captain Kathleen Aalderink, and Master Seargent Elvin Trusty

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rodrigj@umich.edu or aalderin@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sooyeon Kim

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ksooyeon@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Ethriam Brammer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ebrammer@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.rackham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Dorceta E Taylor & Sonia Joshi

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dorceta@umich.edu or soniajos@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester & Natalie Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu or nrmason@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.dent.umich.edu/student-life/extracurricular/diversity-and-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Patricia King

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: patking@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Lawson and Devon Keen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu or devaca@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/aboutsi/diversity-school-information.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Freyja Harris and Rikki Morrow-Spitzer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: freyharr@umich.edu or rikkims@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel and Patricia Coleman-Burns

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu or limannix@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.nursing.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion .

Implementation Lead(s)

Sharon Kardia & Nichole Burnside

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: skardia@umich.edu or washingn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lorraine Gutierrez and Lauren Davis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lorraing@umich.edu or laurdavi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Musleh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: samusleh@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Francis Nunoo-Quarcoo and Mahendra Kumar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: fnunoo@umich.edu or mkumar@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/pdf/DEIPlan2017-2018.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Taryn Petryk, Carolyn Yoon & Amy Byron-Oilar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu or tpetryk@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http:// https/michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Thomas Lehker, Anna Ruszkiewicz & Monita Thompson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tlehker@umich.edu or monitact@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

Implementation Lead(s)

McLain Clutter & Joana Dos Santos

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mclainc@umich.edu or joanads@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/sites/default/files/files/2016_1005_TAUBMAN%20DIV%20PLAN_8.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis, Shelley Curry and Tina Foley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu or mdcurry@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Dondi Cupp & Katherine Walsh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dcupp@umich.edu or katwalsh@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jeff Witt, Diversity and Inclusion Specialist

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wittjef@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/diversity.