| Strategic Plan

Campuswide & Unit Plans

Campuswide Strategic Plan

The campuswide strategic plan outlines overarching strategies and actions intended to support the 50 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion oversees the implementation and evaluation of the campuswide plan.

For more information about the history, strategies and aspirations that shaped this, see:


Unit Plans & Contacts

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 49 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

Rachel Niemer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rkniemer@umich.edu or rhenyard@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Shawn Beard

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: spbeard@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://advance.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Abigail Eiler, Ruquel Atchison, Whitney Tarver

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rowea@umich.edu or ruquelm@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis, Shelley Curry, Tina Foley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu or mdcurry@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nancy Bartlett, Brian Williams

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nbart@umich.edu or bwms@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://bentley.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tina Jordan, Amy Bunch

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jordantl@umich.edu or amybunch@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Theresa Braunschneider, Victoria Genetin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu or vgenetin@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Janice Reuben, Marchelle Moore

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reubenjs@umich.edu or marchelm@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Erickson, Louis Miller

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pjerick@umich.edu or louismi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sara Pozzi

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pozzisa@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jessica Garcia, Fiona Lee

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jcgdei@umich.edu or fionalee@umich.edu.

Please check back soon for Year 3 Plan.

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Billick, Hanna Quinlan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: billickc@umich.edu or hquinlan@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Marlanna Landeros, Stacy Ede

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu or stacyede@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Stephen Eberle, Kathi Reister

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: seberle@umich.edu or kreister@umich.edu.

Strategic plan coming soon.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Mary Kay Phelps

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu or mkphelps@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Keila Walton, Kaylee Bloom, Diane Jones

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: keilaw@umich.edu or kmbloom@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://its.umich.edu/about/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tara Engholm, Sheri Notaro

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tengholm@umich.edu or swynn@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://home.isr.umich.edu/diversity/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kimberly D'Haene

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kdhaene@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork, Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Doug Conley, Elizabeth Glynn

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dsconley@umich.edu or lizglynn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Sampson, Christopher Ankney

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: asamps@umich.edu or ankney@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Madison Smith

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: msmithk@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Lumas Helaire

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lhelaire@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://odei.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Erica Sanders, Kyle Manley, Paul Robinson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yale@umich.edu or kmanley@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sabrina Ervin, Tabbye Chavous

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sme@umich.edu or tchavous@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Katie McGaffigan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kmcgaff@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn, Tyne Lucas, Kimberly Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu or tyne@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Army - Victoria Kositz, Air Force - James Yau, Navy - Alexis Kantaris

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: evkostiz@umich.edu or jamesyau@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ethriam Brammer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ebrammer@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.rackham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sonia Joshi, Bilal Butt

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: soniajos@umich.edu or bilalb@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester, Natalie Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu or nrmason@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.dent.umich.edu/student-life/extracurricular/diversity-and-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

David Humphrey, Maren Oberman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: davidhjr@umich.edu or mareneo@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Schabel, Devon Keen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu or devaca@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/aboutsi/diversity-school-information.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Julio Cardona, Freyja Harris, Rikki Morrow-Spitzer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: freyharr@umich.edu or rikkims@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel, Patricia Coleman-Burns

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu or pcb@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.nursing.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion .

Implementation Lead(s)

Nichole Burnside, Enrique Neblett, Marie O'Neill

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: washingn@umich.edu or eneblett@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Larry Gant, Lauren Davis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lmgant@umich.edu or laurdavi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Musleh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: samusleh@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Mahendra Kumar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkumar@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/pdf/DEIPlan2017-2018.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Carolyn Yoon, Amy Byron-Oilar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu or amybyron@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http:// https/michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jamie Cox, Thomas Lehker, Monita Thompson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tlehker@umich.edu or monitact@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anya Sirota

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: asirota@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/sites/default/files/files/2016_1005_TAUBMAN%20DIV%20PLAN_8.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kalia Vang

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kaliav@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jeff Witt, Thomas Dickens

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wittjef@umich.edu or dickenst@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/diversity.