| Strategic Plan

Campuswide & Unit Plans

Campuswide Strategic Plan

The campuswide strategic plan outlines overarching strategies and actions intended to support the 50 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion oversees the implementation and evaluation of the campuswide plan.

For more information about the history, strategies and aspirations that shaped this, see:


Unit Plans & Contacts

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 50 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

RaShonda Flint, Amy Tuckfield

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rrflint@umich.edu or atuckfie@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://ai.umich.edu/our-work/educational-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Shawn Beard, Stephanie Shaulskiy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: spbeard@umich.edu or sshauls@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://advance.umich.edu/about/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Abigail Eiler, Whitney Tarver, Maurice Washington

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rowea@umich.edu, wtarver@umich.edu or, washimj@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis, Shelley Curry, Tina Foley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu or mdcurry@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://audits.umich.edu/about-us/mission-vision-values-dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Brian Williams, Ceci Reicker, Corinne Robertson, Diana Bachman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cormich@umich.edu or celiaorr@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://bentley.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jane Pettit, Katherine Reece, Eileen Rider, Sara Wiener

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: erider@umich.edu, janep@umich.edu or, ksaputo@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/diversity-dei-strategic-plan/.

sarawie@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Tershia Pinder-Grover, Victoria Genetin, Christine Simonian Bean

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu, vgenetin@umich.edu or, csbean@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://crlt.umich.edu/dei-strategic-plan.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Prince, Sandra Iaderosa

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sarahpr@umich.edu or iaderosa@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.cew.umich.edu/about/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Erickson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pjerick@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://clements.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kimberly Burton, Alex Cicalese, Lyonel Milton, Sara Pozzi, Zhanar Tuleutayeva

To learn more, contact: pozzisa@umich.edu, cicalese@umich.edu or, ztuleuta@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://culture.engin.umich.edu/an-inclusive-campus/our-commitment/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jessica Garcia, Paula Hathaway, Isis Settles

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jcgdei@umich.edu, ptrail@umich.edu or, isettles@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://lsa.umich.edu/lsa/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://pharmacy.umich.edu/dei/dei-strategic-plan.

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Billick, Hanna Quinlan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: billickc@umich.edu or hquinlan@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://vpcomm.umich.edu/about/ovpc-diversity-equity-inclusion-plan/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Michelle Chatell, Marlanna Landeros

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu or mphelps@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://dpss.umich.edu/content/about/mission-vision/diversity-equity-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sian Dowis , Kathi Reister, Kylie Snyder

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: siancd@umich.edu, kreister@umich.edu or, kpsnyder@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.dc.umich.edu/about-the-dc/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-at-the-dc/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Stephanie Sanders, Catie Hausman, Dominique Adams-Santos, Luke Shaefer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: stepsand@umich.edu, chausman@umich.edu or, adamssan@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://fordschool.umich.edu/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://ogc.umich.edu/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Crane, Kristina Ko, Andrea Lewis, Nell Dority, Brooke Sweeney

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sarahcr@umich.edu, kdko@umich.edu or, ablewis@umich.edu.

ndority@umich.edu, brenaes@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Mary Kay Phelps

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu or mkphelps@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://graham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Keila Walton, Kaylee Bloom, Diane Jones

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: keilaw@umich.edu or kmbloom@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://its.umich.edu/about/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tara Engholm

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tengholm@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://isr.umich.edu/about/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Michele Fraiser, Kimberly D'Haene, Alexis Bailey

To learn more, contact: kdhaene@umich.edu, mfrasier@umich.edu or, ambaile@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork, Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.lsi.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ivana Lopez-Espinosa

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lopezeia@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://mbgna.umich.edu/strategic-plan/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nathan Hanke, Kristen Howard, Ashli Wilson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: hanken@umich.edu, howardkr@umich.edu or, abwilson@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://ohei.med.umich.edu/news/dei-10-report.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Sampson, Alisunn Jones, Neil Van Houten

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: asamps@umich.edu, alisunnj@umich.edu or, nvanh@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://umma.umich.edu/commitment-anti-racist-action.

Implementation Lead(s)

Madison Smith

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: msmithk@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://obp.umich.edu/about/dei-obp/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sheri Samaha, Hector Galvan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sridout@umich.edu or hgalvan@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://odei.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Erica Sanders, Matthew Mueller

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yale@umich.edu or mjmuell@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://enrollment.umich.edu/diversity-equity-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sabrina Ervin, Trachette Jackson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sme@umich.edu or tjacks@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://research.umich.edu/research-at-michigan/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kat Hart, Devon Redmond

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: katmhart@umich.edu or devonred@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn, Tyne Lucas, Kimberly Brown, Mikalia Dennis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu or tyne@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://provost.umich.edu/about-the-office/dei-plan-provosts-office/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Henry Jackowski

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: henjack@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://airforce.rotc.umich.edu/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ethriam Brammer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ebrammer@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://rackham.umich.edu/rackham-life/diversity-equity-and-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lauren Davis, Kristen Surla, Vanesa Jackson, Rebecca Hardin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: laurdavi@umich.edu or ksurla@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://seas.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-inclusion/.

vanesaj@umich.edu, rdhardin@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester, Shanté Galloway

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu or slgy@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.dent.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion-dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Hunter, Deborah Rivas-Drake

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cahunter@umich.edu or drivas@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://soe.umich.edu/dije.

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Schabel, Devon Keen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu or devaca@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/about-umsi/diversity-equity-inclusion-office.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.kines.umich.edu/about/diversity-commitment.

Implementation Lead(s)

Amber Benton

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: amberben@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://smtd.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel, Patricia Coleman-Burns, Patricia Hurn

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu, pcb@med.umich.edu or, phurn@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://nursing.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Enrique Neblett, Marie O'Neill, Whitney Peoples, Mateen Zafer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: eneblett@umich.edu, marieo@umich.edu or, wpeoples@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://sph.umich.edu/diversity-equity-inclusion/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Dillon Cathro, Larry Gant

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: acathro@umiche.du or lmgant@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://ssw.umich.edu/offices/diversity-equity-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Matt Bierl, Jessica St. George

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mbierl@umich.edu or jstgeorg@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/life-at-stamps/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Carolyn Yoon, Thomas Bell, Carmen Quinonez

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu, thomn@umich.edu or, cquinon@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nadia Bazzy, Jaime Cox, Will Sherry, Janel Sutkus, Kyra Shahid

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nmbazzy@umich.edu, jaimecox@umich.edu or, jsutkus@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

ktshahid@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Zain AbuSeri

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: zaina@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kalia Vang, Katherine Walsh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kaliav@umich.edu or katwalsh@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://leadersandbest.umich.edu/DEI.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lawrence Young

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lnyoung@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://lib.umich.edu/about-us/about-library/diversity-equity-inclusion-and-accessibility/.