| Strategic Plan

Campuswide & Unit Plans

Campuswide Strategic Plan

The campuswide strategic plan outlines overarching strategies and actions intended to support the 50 school, college and unit plans. The plan’s core strategies focus on three areas:

  • Strategy 1: Create an Inclusive and Equitable Campus Climate
  • Strategy 2: Recruit, Retain and Develop a Diverse Community
  • Strategy 3: Support Innovative and Inclusive Scholarship and Teaching

In addition to the new initiatives proposed in the plan, many established programs and offices will continue to provide foundational support and infrastructure for this work. The Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion oversees the implementation and evaluation of the campuswide plan.

For more information about the history, strategies and aspirations that shaped this, see:


Unit Plans & Contacts

Every school, college and campus unit created a diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan addressing its unique local needs and opportunities. In the sections below, you will find links to each of the 49 plans, along with contact information for the unit implementation leads. The plans will be updated annually through a continuous and iterative planning process. We encourage you to get involved with the ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts happening in your school, college or unit. To demonstrate DE&I efforts at the unit level, digital poster highlights are available.

You also can email ideas and feedback to diversityplan@umich.edu.

Download a list of contact information for all unit implementation leads (PDF)

Implementation Lead(s)

Rachel Niemer and Ryan Henyard

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rkniemer@umich.edu or rhenyard@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Michelle Pham

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: michpham@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://advance.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ruquel Atchison and Whitney Tarver

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ruquelm@umich.edu or wtarver@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Nancy Bartlett and Brian Williams

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: nbart@umich.edu or bwms@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://bentley.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tina Jordan and Amy Bunch

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jordantl@umich.edu or amybunch@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.bf.umich.edu/diversity/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Theresa Braunschneider, Tershia Pinder-Grover, Victoria Genetin

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tpinder@umich.edu or tbraun@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Janice Reuben

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reubenjs@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Shneen Coldiron and Louis Miller

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: shneenc@umich.edu or louismi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sara Pozzi & Robert Scott

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pozzisa@umich.edu or scottrd@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jessica Garcia, Fiona Lee

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jcgdei@umich.edu or fionalee@umich.edu.

Please check back soon for Year 3 Plan.

Implementation Lead(s)

Regina McClinton, Diversity/Inclusion Specialist

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: reginamc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Christopher Billick

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: billickc@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Marlanna Landeros & Stacy Ede

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mlandero@umich.edu or stacyede@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Stephen Eberle

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: seberle@umich.edu

Strategic plan coming soon.

Implementation Lead(s)

Susan Guindi & Paula Lantz & Stephanie Sanders, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: sguindi@umich.edu or stepsand@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://fordschool.umich.edu/diversity-commitment.

Implementation Lead(s)

Maya Kobersy

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: mkobersy@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Mark Rivett and LaSonia Forte

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rivett@umich.edu or ljforte@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Andrew Horning, Mary Kay Phelps

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ahorning@umich.edu or mkphelps@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Jane Berliss-Vincent, Monica Hickson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jbvincen@umich.edu or hicksonm@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://its.umich.edu/about/dei.

Implementation Lead(s)

Tara Engholm

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tengholm@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://home.isr.umich.edu/diversity/dei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Bayrex Mati-Colon

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: bayrex@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.law.umich.edu/special/divsurvey/Pages/default.aspx.

Implementation Lead(s)

Anna Schork & Natalie Bartolacci

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: LSIdiversity@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Maricela Avalos, Elizabeth Glynn

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: marava@umich.edu or lizglynn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Clarissa Love, Phyllis Blackman

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: clarfree@med.umich.edu or phyllisb@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.med.umich.edu/ohei/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Natalie Vasher, Anna Sampson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: natavano@umich.edu or asamps@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Madison Smith

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: msmithk@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Lumas Helaire

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lhelaire@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://odei.umich.edu/.

Implementation Lead(s)

Kedra Ishop, Paul Robinson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kishop@umich.edu or probins@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Bradford Orr

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: orr@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Katie McGaffigan

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: kmcgaff@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://president.umich.edu/areas-of-focus/diversity-equity-inclusion/ .

Implementation Lead(s)

Crystal Flynn, Tyne Lucas & Kimberly Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: cflynn@umich.edu or tyne@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Army - CPT Chase Huggins, Air Force - 1Lt Kent Peaslee, Navy - Alexis Kantaris

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: chhuggin@umich.edu or kpeaslee@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ethriam Brammer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ebrammer@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.rackham.umich.edu/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Dorceta E Taylor & Sonia Joshi

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: dorceta@umich.edu or soniajos@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Todd Vincent Ester & Natalie Brown

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tvester@umich.edu or nrmason@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.dent.umich.edu/student-life/extracurricular/diversity-and-inclusion.

Implementation Lead(s)

Patricia King, David Humphrey

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: patking@umich.edu or davidhjr@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Judy Lawson and Devon Keen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jmlawson@umich.edu or devaca@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://www.si.umich.edu/aboutsi/diversity-school-information.

Implementation Lead(s)

Ketra L. Armstrong, PhD

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: ketra@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Freyja Harris and Rikki Morrow-Spitzer

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: freyharr@umich.edu or rikkims@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Rushika Patel and Patricia Coleman-Burns

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: rushika@med.umich.edu or pcb@med.umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.nursing.umich.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion .

Implementation Lead(s)

Sharon Kardia & Nichole Burnside

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: skardia@umich.edu or washingn@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Lorraine Gutierrez and Lauren Davis

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: lorraing@umich.edu or laurdavi@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Sarah Musleh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: samusleh@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Carol Jacobsen

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: jacobsen@umich.edu

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://stamps.umich.edu/pdf/DEIPlan2017-2018.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Taryn Petryk, Carolyn Yoon & Amy Byron-Oilar

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: yoonc@umich.edu or tpetryk@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http:// https/michiganross.umich.edu/our-community/diversity.

Implementation Lead(s)

Thomas Lehker, Monita Thompson

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: tlehker@umich.edu or monitact@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://studentlife.umich.edu/article/diversity-statement.

Implementation Lead(s)

Joana Dos Santos, Anna Sirota

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: joanads@umich.edu or asirota@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit https://taubmancollege.umich.edu/sites/default/files/files/2016_1005_TAUBMAN%20DIV%20PLAN_8.pdf.

Implementation Lead(s)

Paul Millis, Shelley Curry and Tina Foley

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: pmillis@umich.edu or mdcurry@umich.edu.

Implementation Lead(s)

Katherine Walsh

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: katwalsh@umich.edu

Implementation Lead(s)

Jeff Witt, Thomas Dickens

Unit Strategic Plan

To learn more, contact: wittjef@umich.edu or dickenst@umich.edu.

For more information about diversity, equity and inclusion programs and resources, visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/diversity.